Meet Annette!

“I know it is wet and the sun is not sunny, but we can have lots of good fun that is funny.”
― Dr. SeussThe Cat in the Hat

 

About 15 years ago I read a newsletter written by a librarian who had purchased a mannequin to include in book displays and around her library. The idea stuck and I have always kept my eyes peeled for one to purchase. I wanted a vintage one and they are difficult to find. Finally, after two years of hard searching, I found one in Cincinnati through Craig’s list. My husband and I took a road trip to check her out. She was in great condition to be approximately forty years old! She even looks like a teenager:) I had to have her. She was buckled in and off we went.

Derby Display

Can you believe Annette picked the winning horse for our Derby Display? We’ll have to watch where she puts her $$ next year and follow her lead!

My daughters researched popular names from the sixties and we settled on Annette!

My daughters researched popular names from the sixties and we settled on Annette! She helped us with our cooking display.

She helped promote the Science Fair that we host every year!

She helped promote the Science Fair that we host every year!

Annette has been posing in lots of photos with students.

Annette has been posing in lots of photos with students.

You should have seen the strange looks driving down the interstate with Annette strapped in the back seat. We received even more comments when we carried her into a thrift store to buy her some clothes. The entire store was pointing and laughing as Roger carried her upper body and I had her legs. She wears a size 0!

Poor Annette- she was naked and bald when we found her. We saved her from an antique show the next day!

Poor Annette- she was naked and bald when we found her. We saved her from an antique show the next day!

James and Annette goofing off! We have lots of  laughs and fun since she came to the library.

James and Annette goofing off! We have had lots of laughs and fun since she came to the library.

6 thoughts on “Meet Annette!

  1. Oh my WORD! She is just a HOOT! I would buy her all retro vintage clothes! Pucci and Lilly Pulitzer! But she’s great for displays and yes… a little creepy! As in…you wonder at night if she straightens out her arms and wanders around finally resting in a chair, reading the books! LOVE!

  2. What a wonderful idea. I wonder if I could talk a store into donating one for educational purposes. This is brilliant! Great photo opportunity for patrons and really adds to the ambiance of the library. She’s like Barbie-she can be a cook, police woman, Vet, scientist, monster, Rapunzel, etc. You are definitely forward thinking. Kudos

    • I made up business cards (asking for a mannequin) and left them at department stores for about two years. I never had luck getting a donation. I bet if you knew someone, you might have a better chance. Yes – she is like a giant doll. She is now dressed for summer (sunglasses, shorts, t-shirt) with our display promoting our summer reading program. Christi

    • Thanks for the compliment on our library. We are very fortunate to have such a nice facilty. It was renovated about five years ago. We just found Annette about a month ago, but we do plan on a Halloween costume!

Leave a Reply

